How Doylestown got its Name

Residents and visitors alike view Doylestown as a truly one-of-a-kind community, where exceptional people and industry, classic architectural forms, history, recreational fun, and a picturesque landscape all combine to create a unique American identity.

Doylestown, Pennsylvania

Originally the land of the Delaware Indians’ Lenni Lenape tribe before European colonization, Doylestown and Bucks County are often recognized as some of the most beautiful scenery in Pennsylvania—and America!

The name “Doylestown” was derived from the Irish innkeeper William Doyle, who got a license to operate a public house known as “Doyle’s Tavern” in 1745. In 1750, the small village had only a half-dozen families living in log homes. There was a blacksmith, a tavern, and a pioneer store. Doyle’s Tavern, now a Starbucks, is located on the northwest corner of Main and State Streets.

Known for years as “William Doyle’s Tavern,” it had a strategic location at the intersection of the road linking Norristown and New Hope (now U.S. Route 202) and the road linking Philadelphia and Easton (now PA Route 611). A stagecoach route was established along the Philadelphia-Easton Road (now Main Street) in 1792, and Doylestown remained a stopping point along the route, allowing the village to grow. Doylestown evolved alongside America from an anonymous colonial wilderness to a tranquil country town.

Charles Child’s mural on the wall of the Doylestown Post Office, located at 8 Atkinson Drive, was painted in 1934 and is the only surviving image of the Doyle family. Though the community’s needs have changed considerably since William Doyle founded his pub 278 years ago, the desire to preserve the tavern’s charm has not. Rather than demolish structures whose original purposes have long since passed into history, Doylestown residents and organizations have taken care to adapt them to present needs that have contributed to the town’s unique identity.

www.doylestownpa.org/information/history/